3 HOUR LIVE WEBINAR: Relationships & the Autism Spectrum with Barb Cook & Yenn Purkis 18th April 2020

3 HOUR LIVE WEBINAR: Relationships & the Autism Spectrum with Barb Cook & Yenn Purkis 18th April 2020

$60.00

STRICTLY LIMITED TO 100 TICKETS

3 HOUR LIVE WEBINAR

with Yenn Purkis & Barb Cook

DATES & TIMES

FRIDAY – 17th April, 2020

3pm – 6pm   Vancouver Canada

5pm – 8pm   Dallas, USA

6pm – 9pm   New York, USA

SATURDAY – 18th April, 2020

8am – 11am   Perth, Australia

10am – 1pm   Brisbane, Australia

12pm – 3pm   Auckland, New Zealand

Ticket Price:  $60.00

This webinar is for autistic and neurodiverse adults, parents, educators, employers and health professionals.

On completion of this webinar, a certificate will be provided with three (3) hours personal development.

About the webinar…

Relationships come in many forms. These can be friendships, romantic and intimate or these relationships can be part of our everyday lives when we are at work with bosses and colleagues or in an educational setting at school or uni. A commonality of these relationships is there usually is more than one person involved and requires navigation of the hidden expectations and dynamics of interaction and connection with other people.

In this webinar, Barb and Yenn will explore the various types of relationships, what the expectations are, and how neurodiverse people can express their needs and understanding of how they experience connecting with other people.

Some of the topics covered are the dynamics of friendships, romantic encounters and expectations in intimate relationships, redefining what a healthy relationship is, safety, bullying, harassment and understanding the unique needs for satisfying companionship.

Barb and Yenn will explore workplace and educational relationships and how to self-advocate in having needs met, to feel supported in an inclusive environment and to gain insight into how to work towards meaningful relationships with others.

89 in stock

Description

About the Speakers…

BARB COOK is an internationally recognised author, speaker and advocate. She is a registered Developmental Educator, Autism and Neurodiversity Employment Consultant and Life Coach. Barb has a Master of Autism (Education) with focus on employment from the University of Wollongong, where she is also a tutor and a research assistant in the area of self-determination and self-advocacy for adults on the autism spectrum.

She is founder of Spectrum Women and editor and coauthor of the internationally acclaimed book, Spectrum Women: Walking to the Beat of Autism.

Barb identifies as neurodivergent, being diagnosed with autism, ADHD and dyslexia in 2009 at age 40, and promotes a strength-based and person-centred approach in her work and life.

 

YENN PURKIS (formerly Jeanette Purkis) is an autistic author, presenter and advocate. Yenn has six published books on elements of autism, has given many keynote presentations including for TEDx Canberra and represents on several advisory boards and committees. Yenn has had a number of media engagements including featuring in the ABC documentary Alone in a Crowded Room. Yenn is active in social media, publishing weekly blogs and a daily meme since 2014.

Yenn was named the 2016 ACT Volunteer of the Year and has a number of other awards for community leadership. They even feature on a mural of local heroes in Canberra where they live. Yenn has facilitated a women’s support group in Canberra since 2011 and mentors a number of young people on the autism spectrum. Yenn also works for the Australian Public Service.

 

 

 

 

Additional information

Select Ticket Type

Neurodiverse Person, General/Professional